In Which Baby Sarah Learns About Wine, Farm-To-Table Restaurants

My favorite thing about freelancing is learning new things–but, at the same time, it took me forever to write this piece because while I can awkwardly navagate around a wine tasting (swirl! look! smell! sip!) and I know words like “nose” and I know what it means when a wine is “jammy,” that’s about the extent of it.

So when I wrote this piece for the Seattle Weekly on the lack of local wine in farm-to-table restaurants, it took me forever, and I worked very, very hard to not sound like an idiot. But I learned a lot about new world vs. old world, sustainable farming practices, and what climate issues go into cultivating grapes and making wine.

I also met some amazing people–really, everyone I talked to for the piece was so helpful and personable. If I had the funds I’d go to all their restaurants, local wine or no.

Leave a Reply

